EcoSummit 2012 Banner

Plenary Speaker

Sven E. Jørgensen

Sven E. JørgensenSven Erik Jørgensen received his Master of Chemical Engineering, DTU, Denmark, and Dr. Eng. In Environmental Engineering from Karlsruhe University, Germany, in 1990 and a Dr. Scientific (Ecological Modelling) from Copenhagen University. He is currently Professor Emeritus, University of Copenhagen. He was elected to the European Academy of Sciences and serves as head of the section for earth science and environmental sciences since 2009.

He has authored or co-authored 349 papers (235 in peer-reviewed international journals) and written or edited 70 scientific books on ecological modelling, systems ecology, ecological engineering, environmental science, and environmental management of aquatic systems. He has advised 30 Ph.D. students in environmental chemistry at the Royal Danish School of Pharmacy, University of Copenhagen.

Professor Jørgensen was founder and editor in chief (1975-2009) and is now honorary editor of Ecological Modelling. He has been President of ISEM (International Society of Ecological Modelling) for 1978-1994 and 2007–present. He was chairman of the scientific committee of International Lake Environment Committee 1994-2006.

His awards include medals from The Polish Institute of Meteorology and Water Quality (1984), the Soviet Academy of Science (1986), and Yugoslavia (1986) for research in ecological modelling, distinguished visiting professor at Ohio State University (1991), a Japanese medal (1994) for international exchange between Japan and the rest of the world, the 1st Prigogine Prize (2004), the 2004 Stockholm Water Prize with co-laureate William J. Mitsch for outstanding contributions to the ecology of the world’s lakes and wetlands, an Einstein Professorship from the Chinese Academy of Science (2005), the 2007 Blaise Pascal Medal by the European Academy of Sciences, the Santa Chiara Prize for Multidisciplinary Teaching, from Sienna University (2008 and 2010).

He was appointed honorary member of the Iberian Society of Limnology (2008) and has received honorary doctorates from Coimbra University, Portugal (2006), and Dar es Salaam University, Tanzania (2007).

« Go back to Plenary Speakers

Hosted by

Hosted by OSU

Hosted by MORPC

Hosted by ESA

Hosted by INTELCOL

Tweet Hashtag